Fellowship of the Australian Chinese Medical Association

Fellowship of the ACMA (FACMA) is an honour within ACMA. Being an FACMA is a distinction earned from colleagues who recognize your accomplishments and achievements over and above the practice of medicine. The most important considerations for ACMA Fellowship are excellence and contributions made to both medicine and to the broader community in which the doctor lives and practices. Self nomination is accepted.

ACMA Fellowship is primarily achieved through advancement from ACMA Membership. Fellows are authorised to use the letters FACMA (Fellow of the Australian Chinese Medical Association) in connection with their professional activities for as long as their membership remains current. All nominations of FACMA are considered, assessed and approved by the Management Committee of ACMA. Management Committee of ACMA has the final decision authority to bestow or withdraw the Fellowship award.

The award ceremony is to be carried out every year in the Annual Dinner of ACMA.

Eligibility Requirements

All nominees must meet the eligibility requirements for Fellowship. These include:

  • Being an ACMA member in good standing for at least 5 years; or
  • Served in Management Committee of ACMA for at least 3 years continuously; or
  • Served in Management Committee of ACMA as President for at least 2 years continuously; and
  • Dues for the current membership year must be fully paid prior to the consideration taking place; and
  • Hold an active medical license in good standing (if in clinical practice); and
  • Comply with Continuing professional development and scholarly activities, including continuing medical education as a student or teacher; and
  • Participated in Teaching (institutional and community-based), hospital committee work, and/or volunteer and community service, especially in the voluntary provision of medical care; and
  • Demonstrated with track record of excellence and contributions made to both medicine and to the broader community in which the member lives and practices.

List of Current Fellows

 2018                               (Foundation Fellows FFACMA)
    Dr Lisa Cheng
    Dr Cecile Chu
    A/Prof Seng Chua
    Dr George Han
    Dr Stephen Hing
    Dr Richard Ho
    Dr Ken Lai
    Professor Vincent Lam
    Professor Howard Lau
    Dr Reg Leong
    Dr Stephen Li
    Professor Danforn Lim
    Dr Leslie Lim
    Dr Teck Low
    Dr Anita Lui
    Dr Gabriel So
    Dr Ida Soo
    Dr Amelia Siu
    Dr Michael Suen
    Dr Ernest Tam
    Dr Alex Ting
    Dr Michael Tjeuw
    A/Prof Cyril Wong
    Dr Josephine Wu
    Dr Season Yeung
    Dr Lionel Chang
    A/Prof William Chik
    Dr Tony Pang
    A/Prof John Sinn